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New Taxable Wage Base for 2020 
The new taxable wage base for the 2020 calendar year is $32,500; beginning with the 1st 
quarter wage report which is due April 30, 2020.  To find the taxable wage base for the 
calendar year, go to  http://ui.nv.gov/ess, select the link for See Quarterly Reporting 
Information located under the I want to Section. To ensure accurate filing, employers 
utilizing a Third-Party Administrator or another software product should verify that the 
taxable wage base has been updated to $32,500 and that the 2020 rate to pay the 
Unemployment Insurance is updated.  Without the current rate information, your account 
could end up with a delinquent balance or an overpayment credit. 
 
The taxable wage base for Unemployment Insurance (UI) contributions is calculated each 
year at 66 2/3 percent of the average annual wage paid to Nevada workers. UI taxes that 
are payable to the Employment Security Division are calculated using an employee's 
wages up to the taxable wage base during the calendar year.  Although all total wages 
paid to each employee must be reported to the Division each quarter, any wages paid to 
an individual which exceed that amount during the calendar year are not subject to tax. 
 

Electronic Filing and Reporting Requirements  

As of July 1, 2018, the Division adopted a new regulation (NAC 612.035) related to 

Unemployment Insurance Contributions.  NAC 612.035 clarifies filing and reporting 

requirement and requires electronic filing of unemployment insurance contributions 

reports. Any employer and employing unit subject to NRS Chapter 612 shall file, by 

electronic means, all quarterly wage and tax reports required by NRS 612.535 – 612.580.  

An employer or employing unit may request a waiver when the employer has established, 

to the satisfaction of the Administrator, that there is a lack of automation, a severe 

economic hardship, or other good cause. Per Senate Bill 302, passed during the 2019 

Legislative Session, an approved waiver shall be valid for not less than 24 months.  

 

The Employment Security Division (ESD) Employer Self-Service (ESS) portal must be 

utilized to file all required unemployment insurance contribution reports. The current 

Quarterly Wage Report will be conveniently pre-populated with the names and social 

security numbers of employees that were reported in the previous quarter. When 

completing a new wage report; delete employees that are no longer working, add new 

employees, and update the wages for the current quarter. 
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Simple step by step instructions are available at the ESS website: http://ui.nv.gov/ess.  
Select Tips for Using the New System to find the following links: 

• How to Report Online 

• How to Submit Payments Online by ACH Debit 

Any questions about using ESS can be directed to the Online Reporting Help Desk, at 
(866) 429-9757 during regular business hours. 

Electronic report filing is required for all employers unless an E-File Waiver Request form 
has been submitted and approved by the Division. 

2020 Nevada Unemployment Insurance Rates  
Each year in December, employers are notified of their Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
tax rate for the following calendar year. The 2020 Notice of Employer’s Contribution 
Rate were mailed on December 20, 2019.  
 

Employers can also conveniently access the 2020 UI Tax rate online at Employer Self-
Service (ESS) website: http://ui.nv.gov/ess.   

• To view 2020 rate and prior years rates select Summary Information, then click 

Rate History. 

• The new 2020 rate is displayed on the Employer Summary Screen, as the 

Current Year: Rate. 

• To view or make a copy of the 2020 Notice of Employer’s Contribution Rate 

select My Documents. 

To ensure accurate filing, employers utilizing a Third-Party Administrator or another 
software product should verify the rate for 2020 has been updated correctly. Use of the 
wrong rate from the previous year is a common mistake for the first quarter reporting. 
Be sure to use the 2020 UI Tax Rate to avoid either an unnecessary overpayment or 
additional expenses due to an underpayment. 

 
 

Paying Online 
Prior to making an online ACH Debit payment, a Contribution Report must first be filed 
online. Based on the online reporting, the system will automatically calculate the amount 
due. ACH Debit payments post to the employer account immediately. 
 
IMPORTANT: Before making a UI tax payment by ACH Debit for the first time, the ACH 
Debit Authorization Request Form must be completed and faxed, along with a copy 
of a voided check, to (775) 684-6351 for prior approval.  The form can be downloaded 
at http://ui.nv.gov/PDFS/RPT7011.pdf.  
 
NOTE: The authorization request forms must be returned before April 17, 2020 to make a payment for 
the first quarter of 2020. Any questions regarding payments by ACH Debit can be directed to the Online 
Payment Help Desk, at (775) 684-6345 during regular business hours. 
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Helpful Hints: 

• To prevent wage discrepancies, please ensure the wage total matches the total

gross wages reported.

• Check the certification box before clicking the “Submit” button to ensure your

Quarterly Report filing is complete.

• Select the “Submit Payment” button on the ACH Debit Authorization page to

process your online payment.

• When contacting the Division, please ensure the caller has been given the proper

authorization as an internal user.

Address Updates 
Please review your mailing address on file to ensure you receive the most current 
information on your account.  To update, choose one of the following options: 

• Online: Employer can visit  http://ui.nv.gov/ess and navigate to Employer 
Summary Screen/Profile Maintenance.

• US Mail: Employer can mail a completed Employer’s Report of Changes 
(Form Number RPT7203) located at http://ui.nv.gov/ess, under Download 
Forms for Employers.

• Phone: Employer may contact our Registration unit at (775) 684-6310. 
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