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Electronic Filing Required After July 1, 2018 
A new regulation related to Unemployment Insurance Contributions clarifying filing and 

reporting requirements is now in place. Regulation within Nevada Administrative Code 

(NAC) Chapter 612-Unemployment Compensation requires electronic filing of 

unemployment insurance contributions reports: 

1. After July 1, 2018 any employer and employing unit subject to NRS Chapter 612 

shall file, by electronic means, file all quarterly wage and tax reports required by 

NRS 612.535 – 612.580, except as provided in section 2. 

2. An employer or employing unit may request a waiver when the employer has 

established, to the satisfaction of the Administrator, that there is a lack of 

automation, a severe economic hardship, or other good cause. An approved 

waiver shall be valid for one year at the discretion of the Administrator. 

The secure Employment Security Division (ESD) Employer Self-Service (ESS) portal is 
to be utilized to file all required unemployment insurance contribution reports. The current 
Quarterly Wage Report will be conveniently pre-populated with the names and social 
security numbers of employees that were reported in the previous quarter. When 
completing a new wage report, simply delete employees no longer working or add new 
employees, and update the wages for the current quarter. 

Simple step by step instructions are available at the ESS website: http://ui.nv.gov/ess.  
Select Tips for Using the New System to find the following links: 

• How to Report Online 

• How to Submit Payments Online by ACH Debit 

Any questions about using ESS can be directed to the Online Reporting Help Desk, at 
(866) 429-9757 during regular business hours. 

Electronic report filing is required for all employers unless an E-File Waiver Request form 
has been submitted and approved by the Division. 
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New Taxable Wage Base for 2020 

The taxable wage base for the 2020 calendar year is $32,500, beginning with the 1st 

quarter wage report in 2020.  To find the taxable wage base for the calendar year, go to  

http://ui.nv.gov/ess, select the link for “See Quarterly Reporting Information” located 

under the “I want to:” section. To ensure accurate filing, employers utilizing a Third-Party 

Administrator or software product should verify that the taxable wage base has been 

updated to $32,500 and that the 2020 rate to pay the Unemployment Insurance is 

updated.  Without the current rate information, your account could end up with a 

delinquent balance or an overpayment credit. 

 

The taxable wage base for Unemployment Insurance (UI) contributions is calculated each 

year at 66 2/3 percent of the average annual wage paid to Nevada workers. UI taxes that 

are payable to the Employment Security Division are paid on an individual's wages up to 

the taxable wage base during a calendar year.  Although total wages paid to each 

employee must be reported to the Division each quarter, any wages paid to an individual 

which exceed that amount during the calendar year are not taxed. 

 

Paying Online 
Prior to making an online ACH Debit payment, a Contribution Report must first be filed 
online. Based on the online reporting, the system will automatically calculate the amount 
due. ACH Debit payments post to the employer account immediately. 
 
IMPORTANT NOTE: Before making a UI tax payment by ACH Debit for the first time, 
the ACH Debit Authorization Request form must be completed and faxed to (775) 684-
6351 for approval.  The form can be downloaded at http://ui.nv.gov/PDFS/RPT7011.pdf. 
The authorization request forms must be returned before January 17, 2020 to 
make a payment for the fourth quarter of 2019. Any questions regarding payments 
by ACH Debit can be directed to the Online Payment Help Desk, at (775) 684-6345 
during regular business hours. 

 
 
Helpful Hints: 

• To prevent wage discrepancies, please ensure the wage total matches the total 

gross wages reported.   

• Check the certification box before clicking on the “Submit” button to ensure your 

Quarterly Report filing is complete.   

• Select the “Submit Payment” button on the ACH Debit Authorization page to 

process your online payment.   

• When contacting the Division, please ensure the caller has been given the proper 

authorization as an internal user.  
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New Hire Reporting 
Federal welfare legislation requires all employers to report information on newly hired or 
rehired employees to a designated state agency.  In Nevada, the new hire information 
must be reported to the Employment Security Division within 20 days of new hire or if the 
rehire occurs within 60 days.  New hire information is transmitted to the state and national 
Child Support Enforcement Offices to assist in locating parents who are not paying legally 
required child support.  The method of reporting is at the discretion of the employer.  
Secure File Transfer Protocol is preferred; however, employers may submit New Hire 
Reporting forms by fax to (775) 684-6379 or by mail. 

Additional information including specifications and contact information can be found on 
the website: http://ui.nv.gov/ess under “See New Hire Reporting Information” or in the 
Employer Handbook under “New Hire Reporting”. 

VA Educational Benefits OJT Program  
Did you know veterans can use GI BILL® benefits for On-the-Job (OJT) Training?   
Participation in the program is an excellent recruiting and retention strategy for employers 

while assisting veterans with transition into civilian employment.  Veterans participating 

in the program receive a tax-fee monthly housing stipend.  Military.com notes several 

advantages of hiring veterans including proven ability to learn new skills, efficient 

performance under pressure, leadership and teamwork skills.  

Approval criteria is regulated under Title 38 Veterans’ Benefits U.S. Code 3677 and 

include the following:  

• Full Time structured training program ranging between 6 months to 2 years.  

• Progression to the next higher level is based on skills acquisition. 

• Wages are paid to the trainee at a minimum of 50% of a fully trained employee.  

• Reasonable certainty that a job will be available at the end of the training.  

 

Administratively, the program requires employers to submit information regarding the 

training to Department of Veterans Affairs, maintain records, and make the records 

available for compliance proposes.  During the approval process, employers receive 

training on program administration and State Approving Agency staff are available to 

provide follow-up and assistance as questions arise.  For information on the 

administrative aspects of the program, employers can learn more information at 

https://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/onthejob_apprenticeship.asp. 

If you have questions or are interested in participating in the OJT program in Nevada, 
please contact the Commission on Postsecondary Education, State Approving Agency at 
702.486.2897 or email at mnash@detr.nv.gov. 

**2020 Unemployment Insurance Tax Rates will be mailed December 2019** 
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